Best Turkey Burgers!! Ever!!!

so, I knew tonight I wanted to make some turkey burgers…
I browsed around the internet looking for recipes, and found one that looked pretty delicious…
http://recipes.sparkpeople.com/recipe-detail.asp?recipe=1616175
but… if you know me at all – you know that no recipe is safe from my tweaking…
so here goes:
1 lb ground turkey
1 heaping cup of feta cheese (crumbled)
1 egg white
1/4 cup panko crumbs
1/4 cup chopped red onion
2 tbsp. greek seasoning. that I made. from another site, and of course tweaked… link to follow after this recipe.

mix it all together and make your patties and grill or cook in pan until temperature is 165
(that part is pretty straightforward and non-tweakable)

they. were. DELICIOUS.
omg I took a bite and was in food heaven.
so, the original recipe called for mint, oregano, and pepper… I don’t have any mint.
so I was like… hmmm… greek burgers?
greek seasoning…
(but, of course, I don’t have any of that either… ) SO I MADE SOME!!!
based off this recipe:
http://www.heandsheeatclean.com/2013/06/clean-eat-recipe-make-your-own-greek.html
I did tweak it a bit.

Ingredients:

1 Tbsp + 1 tsp Oregano
1/2 tsp Salt
1 Tbsp Onion Powder
1 Tbsp Garlic Powder
2 tsp Black Pepper
2 tsp Parsley
2 tsp Paprika
1 tsp Cinnamon
1 tsp Ground Nutmeg
1 tsp Thyme

really the only thing I changed was that I used Smoked paprika and added 1 tsp of grated lemon peel
and threw it in a spice grinder
pretty yum, and DEFINITELY made the flavor stand out in the turkey burgers

I topped them with some tzatziki style sauce…
but I don’t like cucumbers.
at. all.

so I mixed:
3/4 cup plain greek yogurt
1 tbsp. dried dill
1 tbsp. minced garlic
2 tbsp. lemon juice

mix well and serve on top the burgers.
I also put a tomato slice, some lettuce and some sliced white onion on the bun.
oh man.
amazing.
I served with a salad that I made a lemon vinaigrette to top!!
Lemon Vinaigrette
6 tbsp. extra virgin olive oil
6 tbsp. lemon juice
1 tsp oregano
1 tsp minced garlic
1/2 tsp ground black pepper

I put in a mason jar and shook well.
so light and delicious.
it was an amazing dinner that I wolfed down much too quickly to take a picture of the entire thing, but here’s the burgers that I had leftover!! 🙂
20140621_182748

20140621_182812

About trozellerosio

I am me. that's really all there is to know. I am still figuring out exactly all that entails, but I think it takes a lifetime to do so...

Posted on June 21, 2014, in Food! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment