School Daze

So, I have started back at school.

I haven’t been in school (besides navy classes) since… wait for it…

2002.

ugh. almost 15 years.

So here was my schedule:

Elementary Calculus
Intro to Lit (b/c for some strange reason my world lit class didn’t transfer over?)
Accounting I (b/c yet again – my class didn’t transfer)
Statistics
Environmental Science – ONLINE!!

that’s a rough schedule. . . even for someone who has been in school more recently than 15 years…

and calculus?? I was very nervous… and it was warranted – I looked over the homework and there was just no way – the highest math I took in college was College Algebra.

and that — was in 1997.  my very first semester of college.

so, I picked up Precalculus – I debated taking College Algebra again – but then I would still have to take some kind of calculus intro course – so precalc combines calculus AND algebra (according to the description online) so … I took it – and most teachers in college don’t do a whole lot on the first day – go over the syllabus and whatnot … well this teacher dove straight in and so when I showed up on the second day of class I almost cried, and walked out, and just dropped the class entirely… but I thought about how I only have a limited time frame to do my courses and to start the next phase of schooling (getting into the business college to actually focus on my degree)

So I stayed and struggled and tried to understand what she was saying…
that was Friday… I had a quiz do on Sunday night – with no ability to get tutoring in between… I did ok on the quiz, but I went through every question and did the example question with it so that I had an inkling of how to even perform what the question was asking…

I thought that not having to work would make things easier, and while that’s infinitely true (I’d be seriously, quite literally dying if I was working full time right now) it’s still pretty difficult to get into the swing of things. . . make sure that everything at home is taken care of, get my homework done, do the required readings, and ya know – live my life still, spend time with my husband… all that normal day to day stuff… add to the fact that our house is still a cluttered mess – it’s kind of stressful… I don’t have a designated spot to do my homework, yesterday I was doing it in our closed off room, but while it worked environmentally; it didn’t work physically; b/c I was on the floor and it just was not conducive to comfort.  I finished yesterday’s homework at the kitchen table while husband watched tv in the living room… which wasn’t bad, but he kept wanting to share things with me, so it was a bit distracting…

we’ll see how it goes…

a story about today’s class.

we got put into groups. and I must mention – I am the oldest person in any of my classes, there *might* be someone close to my age – {or at least older than the rest – or he could have just looked rough} in my accounting class.  so bearing that in mind – groups. they were teacher picked – through a system she created. I was grouped with 3 18-year-old girls.
I’m. Not. Lying.

So the instructor says to exchange phone numbers – and this should be a super chance to go against her rules of having your phone out in class. none of them reached for their phones, they all just sat there staring off into space… I said well, shall we exchange numbers then?? and they all in some way or another responded yes… so I said well; I’m not dragging my phone out, but I’ll write them down for myself… so they each gave me their number, but no one else bothered to write anything down, or get their phones out or anything… this bothers me… these people are going to be in my group for the rest of the semester and already they’re showing pure laziness… I will NOT be the one to carry the group.  I will do MY work – and if they don’t like it – then they need to show the fuck up… and if I get screwed on a grade b/c of them – best believe they will hear about it. . .

we’ll see how it goes!!

wish me luck.

more posts to follow!

 

 

About trozellerosio

I am me. that's really all there is to know. I am still figuring out exactly all that entails, but I think it takes a lifetime to do so...

Posted on August 22, 2016, in Life, school and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

